How to kill fruit flies.

Standard

3:15am:

A glass of vinegar and 2 drops
dishwashing soap
with a paper funnel on top
will kill swarms
in the humid rotten.
Preferring to crawl frantic
instead of fly, blind to
the aperture of escape.
One on the edge of the cupboard
hasn’t moved in twenty minutes.
Do fruit flies nap?
Would you nap if you only
lived ten days?
Fucker.
I knew once I got up
to get another cigarette,
he’d jump in.
Two or three fight
on the edge of the funnel
and fall. Dead.
Drag on a cigarette
as they sink.
I have dreams later
that survivors are pissed
and swarm me to death.
Stupid flies.

One thought on “How to kill fruit flies.

  1. Anonymous

    I dunno what was up with that last guy who made that comment but I had a terrible fruit fly problem. I searched Google for “How to kill fruit flies” and this site came up. Now I have a glass full of wet and very dead fruit flies and no more problem. THANK YOU for that WONDERFUL poem. You are the things that fruit fly hell is made of and a dream come true for me :)

    —= Joe Llama

Leave a Reply

