evidence

Standard

it’s another blank page, here
it’s another chilly morning with this
little brown leather book staring at me
daring me
seething, “i know what you did last night
so tell me baby, you got the guts
to tell it right?”

i tried
i tried it out there i did
but it all leaves a bad taste in my mouth
where a geyser the size of old faithful used to be
and he said…
he said he was disappointed in me

i can lie reeeeeeallllll easy believe me
but there are these truths that i hold to be self-evident
even if you don’t
cuz self-evidence is all the evidence i need these days
even if you doubt
so please
please
don’t press me for something that
won’t ever follow the rules

Leave a Reply

