eight sixteen, part I

Standard

i could taste the alcohol on
your fingers when i kissed
them and in that moment
everything about you and me
and the non-space between
us was fluid and free
i noticed with intense
fear how the high of chasing
and being chased sank from
the waves of adrenaline
across my chest into the deeper
more intimate and hidden
rumblings of my gut
surprised and arguing with myself
it’s silly to say that i’m taking
it slow with you considering
well… you know…
but i am
because everyday your words
reach deeper more intimate
and i am confused and desperate
to hold on to that which i’ve
just discovered not in you
but in me

Leave a Reply

