my one and only love poem

Standard

for you and only you will my
wandering eye, my wandering
whatever come back into the
fold i know so well
in the darkness you hold me,
caress the wounds inflicted by
so many others onto my weak
but willing flesh and mind
we don’t speak of them fully
and though i hint at my indiscretion
you know my choice was made
so long ago and though i sway
back and forth, batted around
by tides of time and hormones
you know in the goodness of your
simple pure heart that
you hold me
and i humbly let myself be captured
inside your breath
always welcome back am i
with the wholeness of your lips
on my forehead right before
i surrender to slumber

Leave a Reply

