hierarchy

Standard

they told me your status in the pecking order
was higher than most and there’s some
sort of evolutionary, primal instinct that
kicks in inside my loins
aided and abetted by big blue eyes and
a smile that says “you could come over
here if you wanted to but i’m not sure that you will”
so inside this context i had a choice
and it was like a choose-your-own-adventure book
but i couldn’t read ahead and see what
was waiting for me
what it came down to was seeing what i have
in store for me when the time comes,
when it’s time for me, too, to “settle down”
and “raise a family”
there are, at this point, two choices available:
i will choose to be a wife just like yours
at home with your kids while you’re begging
me not to leave you alone in your hotel room
six thousand miles away and you lay my clothes
out on the bed when i insist on not
sleeping too soundly next to you
or…
i will choose to stay strong, single,
independent, free, untainted and alone
i will not tolerate this bullshit evolutionary excuse
that me, men just like you, you all just can’t
help yourselves. it’s biology it’s darwin it’s just
the way things are and who can argue with that?
i can, that’s who, because i’ve also cured myself
of the biological drive to kill and cook the first
living creature that crosses in front of my face
so you know what? i think you can do your
part to keep your you-know-what
you-know-where it should be
because me, me and my sisters, we’re forced
to adapt to the changing whims of the patriarchy
we have to have our jobs and cars and apartments
these days in the jungles of concrete and student-loan payments
because your evolutionary-retarded ass might run out
on us at any minute for someone like me
because if it’s me or not, those big wide eyes of yours
will always wonder at the newer, shinier model
it’s greed, lust and sloth, plus a few others
all rolled up into one tiny little gene package
that says “it’s just the way we are, baby,
but i still love you, she didn’t mean anything to me”
the servant can’t ask for more soup as long as
the master knows there’s other servants out there
to be squandered
so what do i do?
i take what i can from you and remind you
every once in a while of the power i hold
in the palm of my womanhood and
remind you that evolution is no excuse for me
and i make you beg for me since,
within this paradigm, it’s the only power i’ll ever taste

Leave a Reply

